The 2nd Jigme Singye Wangchuck Outstanding Environment Stewardship Award

HRH Ashi Chimi Yangzom Wangchuck conferred the award.June 6, 2012 – Coinciding with the World Environment Day on June 5, 2012, Bhutan Ecological Society commemorated the day recognizing the individuals who have committed their activities in conservation of environment. The Second Jigme Singye Wangchuck Outstanding Environment Stewardship Award for Excellence in Field Leadership was conferred by Her Royal Highness Princess Chimi Yangzom Wangchuck, Honorable Chief Guest and Royal Patron, Bhutan Ecological Society.

Raling Ngawang Drukdra from Department of Forests and Park Services

The winners of the award were Ms. Rebecca Pradhan, an Ecologist with Royal Society for Protection of Nature, and Mr. Raling Ngawang Drukdra from the Department of Forests and Park Service.

The Guest of Honour congratulated the awardees for their noteable contribution in conservation works and highlighted the important role that each individual has in the conservation of environment.

Coinciding with the day, Ugyen Wangchuck Institute for Conservation and Environment (UWICE) launched “Field Guide for Swallowtails of Bhutan”. The National Environment Commission launched National Strategy and Action Plan for Low Carbon Development while UNDP launched Asia-Pacific Human Development report, One Planet to Share – Sustaining Human Progress in a Changing Climate.

Group photo

The first award for Policy Leadership was awarded to Dasho Paljor J. Dorji, president of Bhutan Ecological Society and the founder of RSPN, while the first award for Field Leadership went to Mr. Sonam Phuntsho from Information and Communication Services in Ministry of Agriculture and Forests.

The award is given every two years to the deserving individuals. The winners were nominated by public and selected by a high-level award committee.

The award, coordinated by UWICE and hosted by Bhutan Ecological Society, is funded by Bhutan Trust Fund for Environmental Conservation and the Bhutan Foundation.

RSPN heartily congratulates both the winners and such recognition is an inspiration for all people working in the environment field.

Reported by: Pema Gyamtsho, RSPN