Steering Committee for Haa CBST project formed

A steering committee was formed for the Community-based Sustainable Tourism (CBST) project in Haa on 9th March 2015 at RSPN Conference Hall in Thimphu.

The committee comprise representatives from the Tourism Council of Bhutan (TCB), Association of Bhutanese Tour Operators (ABTO), Guide Association of Bhutan (GAB), Nature Recreation & Ecotourism Division (NRED) of DoFPS, and Agency for Promotion of Indigenous Crafts (APIC), the Dzongkhag Administration of Haa, and Royal Society for Protection of Nature (RSPN) and the Japan Environmental Education Forum (JEEF).

The main objective of the steering committee formation has been to involve and seek support from relevant stakeholders in developing community-based sustainable tourism in Haa.

The meeting comprised presentations about the project outline, plans, the role of JEEF as the technical counterpart for the project from Japan and discussion on the terms of reference for the steering committee members.

The steering committee will be meeting quarterly to guide and review the progress of CBST project in Haa.

Reported by Tshering Choki, RSPN